Home  >  Saskatchewan
Canadian Only


Wascana Lake and Saskatchewan Legislative Building, Regina, Saskatchewan | Photo: Tanu Nanda Prabhu, Unsplash

 Wascana Lake and Saskatchewan Legislative Building, Regina, Saskatchewan

Introduction to Saskatchewan

Saskatchewan has been Canada’s central prairie province since 1905. Its unique name (originally used for a district of the Northwest Territories in 1882), comes from an English version of a Cree word, kisiskâciwanisîpiy which means “swiftly flowing river”.*

With no particular metropolitan centre, Saskatchewan’s capital, Regina (south) and Saskatoon (further north), are its largest cities. The city of Estevan in southeast Saskatchewan is Canada's sunshine capital, averaging 2,540 sunshine-filled hours each year.

Saskatchewan produces over 54% of the wheat grown in Canada. It’s also home to Canada's only training academy for the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) in Regina.

Canada Map - Saskatchewan

Back to: Home | AB | BC | MB | NB | NL | NT | NS | NU | ON | PE | QC | SK | YT | Canada-wide

Locations in Saskatchewan




Cypress Hills (spans across Saskatchewan-Alberta border)
Killdeer Bandlands
Rock Creek Badlands

Sand Dunes

Athabasca Sand Dunes
Great Sand Hills

Did you know?

Saskatchewan Trivia

Coat of arms
Flower is Western Red Lily
Bird is Sharp-tailed Grouse

The Bread Basket of Canada
Land of the Living Skies
The Land of Seed and Honey
The Wheat Province

Provincial slogan
From Many Peoples' Strength

License plate slogans*
Home of the RCMP (1973)
Wheat Province
Land of the Living Skies (since 1998)

CBC | Global Regina | Global Saskatoon | Regina Leaderpost

Other resources
Books about Saskatchewan
10 Fun Facts on Saskatchewan
Saskatchewan: Fun & Interesting Facts
CanadaVisa: About Saskatchewan
Saskatchewanderer blog
Tourism Saskatchewan blog

Saskatchewan Facts

Date SK entered confederation

September 1, 1905

Area of SK

651,036 sq km (251,366 sq miles)
(Natural Resources Canada, 2001)


Saskatchewan has two main geographical regions: the Canadian Shield in the north and the Interior Plains in the south. Northern Saskatchewan has boreal forest (except for the Athabasca Sand Dunes, the largest active sand dunes in the world north of 58°). Southern Saskatchewan has sand dunes known as the Great Sand Hills. There are the Cypress Hills in the southwestern corner of Saskatchewan and the Killdeer Badlands (Grasslands National Park).

Capital city of SK


Population of SK

1,033,381 (Statistics Canada, 2011 Census)

Residents are known as

Saskatchewanians or Saskatchewanites

Indigenous people of SK

There are 70 First Nations in Saskatchewan, 61 of which are affiliated to one of the nine Saskatchewan Tribal Councils. Languages include Cree, Dakota, Dene (Chipewyan), Nakota (Assniboine) and Saulteaux.

Main SK industries

Agriculture, mining and energy

SK statutory holidays (in addition to national holidays)

Family Day (third Monday in February)

Professional sports teams

Saskatchewan Roughriders (football)



Saskatchewan has more hours of sunshine than any other Canadian province. It has continental climate in the central and eastern part of the province. It has a semi-arid steppe climate in the south and southwest. Northern Saskatchewan has a subarctic climate. Summers can get very hot (32C+). Winters can be bitterly cold (-17C to -40C) for weeks at a time.

Time zone

Central Standard Time (CST) year-round (on daylight savings time all year with no time changes in spring and fall)

Go to home page
Go to top of page

Canada-wide | AB | BC | MB | NB | NL | NT | NS | NU | ON | PE | QC | SK | YT

Owned and operated by Canadian Only Inc. Copyright 2000-2023
Designed by Quirky Idea. Last updated January 13, 2023.